Ubuntu : grub rescue

Recently something messed up in my Ubuntu desktop caused the machine boot into a grub rescue prompt. After some research, our best friend(The Google) helped me to sort the things out. Here is what I did in the grub rescure command prompt (Very limited commands works here) :

1. ls

which lists all the partitions in the disk. Find out the root and boot partitions. Suppose the ls command lists the below (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) (hd0,msdos3) (hd0,msdos4) (hd0,msdos5) (hd0,msdos6)
Enter the command ls (hd0,msdos1)/ to see the content of the first partition.Likewise check the partitions and find the correct root partition and the boot partition. In my case, (hd0,msdos6) contains the root partition and (hd0,msdos5) is the boot partition. ( I can see (hd0,msdos5)/grub )

2. set root=(hd0,msdos6)
3.set prefix=(hd0,msdos5)/grub
4.insmod normal
5. normal

Now if everything is correct, system will boot with the set values. Run the below steps after getting into the ubuntu OS)

6. sudo update-grub
7. sudo grub-install /dev/sda

Hurray !!! Everything works fine 🙂

3 thoughts on “Ubuntu : grub rescue

  1. Hello, I am having the same issue, but I can’t figure it out. I’ve also googled and googled but I’m just getting confused with all of the advise.

    I’m using lubuntu on my dell laptop.

    The response after powering on is as follows:

    error: unknown filesystem.
    Entering rescue mode….
    grub rescue>

    I entered ls and the response is:

    grub rescue> ls
    (hd0) (hd0,msdos5) (hd0,msdos1)

    I entered: ls (hd0,msdos1)/
    Response: error: unknown filesystem

    I can’t figure out what to do next, please help. Thank you!

    • Thank you for replying but I was able to fix it about 3 days after this comment.

      Here’s how I fixed. I borrowed a computer and burned boot repair (got from sourceforge/yannubuntu) on a cd, inserted the cd and it got repaired automatically.

      Hope this helps others! Thanks again for replying.

Leave a Reply

